The Dying of the Light

Accompanying his girlfriend Tess Davy down to Porthennis, Cornwall, Augustus Maltravers expects to have some peace and quiet. 

But the violent death of sculptress Martha Shaw changes everything.

Maltravers believes she was murdered and not the victim of a fatal accident.

But who would want to kill an elderly sculptress?

Maltravers soon becomes suspicious of Martha’s threatening gardener, who seems to be using Martha’s death for his own benefit. 

Augustus embarks on a quest to find the answers and is convinced they lie with the elderly artists. 

His informal investigations lead him back to the dead founder of the Botallick theatre, Agnes Thorpe.

Is there a connection between Agnes’s and Martha’s death? 

Or is this all just a coincidence?

There is a deep secret that Augustus is very close to uncovering … but can he prove any of it?

‘The Dying of the Light’ is the fourth in the series of Augustus Maltravers detective stories and follows on from the ‘The Book of the Dead’. 

"The engaging Maltravers steps carefully among a nest of vipers in an ageing art/drama colony in spectacular Cornwall, uncovering old jealousies and fanatical resentments. Intelligent, with deft touches of humour" - Sunday Telegraph

"Sharp, witty and a sure feel for brooding Cornish menace" - The Times

"Richardson paints a robust rogues' gallery and summons up an icy teraiinal frisson" - Sunday Times

Robert Richardson became a journalist in 1960. In 1985, his first crime novel, ‘The Latimer Mercy’, the first in the series of Augustus Maltravers detective stories, won the CWA John Creasey Memorial Award for the best crime novel. Robert Richardson is also the author of ‘The Book of the Dead’ and ‘Skeleton Key’. 

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

No comments

Post a Comment

Blog Design Created by pipdig